March for Europe

“The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter.”

– Winston Churchill

DSC_1032

Yesterday tens of thousands of people gathered to walk from Park Lane to Parliament Square in protest against the political shit-storm that has occurred in the UK over the past 10 days. Tagging along mainly to take pictures and show my outrage at Brexit, I was overwhelmed to see how many people were there. How many people are passionate about not completely ruining the country and throwing us in to many years of economic and political uncertainty.

DSC_0920

Having grown up in China, it’s still incredible to me that people are allowed to gather and protest against the government. A gathering of more than c30 people in a public place in Beijing, such as TianAnMen Square, is already a problem. Yesterday there were easily over 50,000 people.

DSC_1024

I was thinking about why I felt so strongly about what has happened in British politics recently and I realised that this is the first time I am part of a group that is being discriminated against. I was extremely lucky to grow up privileged, white, straight – and to be honest, it’s been pretty easy going on the discrimination front. I have always empathised with people who face racist attacks, or homophobic attacks, but I have never properly been able to put myself in their shoes.

Since last Thursday, twice I have been told to go home if I don’t like what’s happening”. Finland, Brazil and China are my countries – but the United Kingdom is my home. Whether that is short term, or long term, I am home. I have been here for 5 years this September. I contribute to the economy, I pay my taxes, I donate to charity and I have as much right to be here as any other person.

I was even bloody born in Hong-Kong which was under British rule in 1992.

DSC_1020

Many people who voted leave are not racists. But unfortunately the leave campaign is so tarnished with racist rhetoric and an anti immigrant/refugee agenda, that by voting to leave, you are giving those people a platform. A 60% increase in xenophobic attacks since the vote? Is anyone actually surprised?

DSC_0002

Tolerance and celebration of individual differences is the fire that fuels lasting love. Now is not the time to turn against each other because people have passports from different countries. It’s a f*cking passport for christ’s sake.

DSC_1000

DSC_0970

A campaign based on lies is not democracy.

DSC_0941

Some hope in our sensible Scottish neighbours who if they now have a second referendum to leave the UK, fair play. Let’s just rename to the Divided Kingdom asap, shall we?

DSC_0992

Wish this picture had been more in focus but they were walking past so quickly. You get the idea.

DSC_1019

If you think about the people who support Brexit, surely you can realise just based on that, that it is a terrible idea.

DSC_1006Pre-vote no one I spoke to really believed that the leave campaign would be able to fool so many people in to believing their bullshit..now I worry that not enough will be done to stop people like Trump and Le Pen because we didn’t think people could be so ignorant. News Flash: people are fucking dumb.

DSC_0990

A fight against old school friends who put their own ambitions and their own egos ahead of the millions of people they are supposed to represent. Now look where it’s landed us.

DSC_1007

DSC_0031

DSC_0972

What is life when a British politician is accurately compared to Hitler. TO FUCKING HITLER.

DSC_0952

DSC_0030

DSC_0930

DSC_1005Walking past number 10 was incredible. Thousands of people just chanting “For shame, for shame, for shame”. I could see at least 50 policemen within a 20 meter space.

DSC_0907

The great thing about yesterday was that it was not focused on who’s part of what political party. Granted, a lot of people were Corbynites and a lot of people hate the Tories. But there was a huge focus on how the Tory party is going to the be the only one who can stop Article 50 going ahead.

DSC_0989

Define Suppository: a solid medical preparation in a roughly conical or cylindrical shape, designed to be inserted into the rectum or vagina to dissolve. LOL.

DSC_0908

The other side said “don’t pull out”.

DSC_0922“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”

-Dumbledore

DSC_0955

Caption unnecessary.

DSC_0913

DSC_0950

DSC_0032

DSC_0037

DSC_0034

The most British sign I found all day.

DSC_0933

DSC_1010

We are so lucky to be part of a world where you can travel so easily in to so many different cultures and countries. Why would you take that away from people? We are so much richer for it.

DSC_1027

 

DSC_0943There is nothing to lose by standing together as one. There is everything to be lost if we build more wall instead of bridges.

DSC_0948

How lucky I am to live in London where people overwhelmingly voted to stay. I don’t feel threatened here, I don’t feel like I’m not wanted and I know if someone started to tell me that in public, I would have dozens of people jumping in to speak up against that discrimination. I am sorry for those of you who are facing xenophobia anywhere in the UK. You are all of us. What is said to you, is said to all of us.

Solidarity. #VoteItDown.

Leave a Reply

